Connect. Impact. Lead.

Who We Are

Heart of West Michigan United Way Young Leaders Society is open to all young professionals who are interested in learning, growing, and participating as philanthropists to invest in solutions that reduce poverty in West Michigan.

What We Do

We come from all sorts of backgrounds to learn about the most pressing issues facing people in West Michigan, and we invite you to join us to change the story. Young Leaders Society is the next generation of professionals ages 21-35, who volunteer, donate, and build relationships to reduce poverty in our community.

Join Us

Sign up for our email list to receive our monthly newsletter and event invitations; like our page on Facebook, and check out our Instagram feed, to learn more about us and get involved. We’d love to have you on board!


2018 Events

Pop Up Volunteer Projects

Pop Up Community-Building Lunches

August: Sort-a-Bus

October: Pop Up Giving

November: Affinity Group Holiday Party

January: Brushes with Benefits

February: Art + Community Engagement Show

March: Sort-a-Social

May: Whitecaps Game


2018 Campaign Core Team

Dana Van Diggelen, Co-Chair
International Brand Manager
Wolverine Worldwide
dana.vandiggelen@wwwinc.com

Brittney Hesse, Co-Chair
Product Marketing, Sr. Specialist
Steelcase
bhesse@steelcase.com

Charlotte Korson, Chair of Diversity + Inclusion
Associate Advisor, Talent Acquisition
Kellogg’s GBS
Charlotte.Korson@kellogg.com

DaiLynn Dietz, Chair of Philanthropy
Associate Application Engineer
Steelcase
DDIETZ@steelcase.com

Amy Baker
Personal Lines Senior Underwriter
Foremost Property Underwriting
amy.mulder@farmersinsurance.com

Erika Makarewicz
Administrative Assistant
Spectrum Health Hospital Group
Erika.Makarewicz@SpectrumHealth.org

James Nutter
Financial Adviser
MassMutual MidMichigan
jnutter@financialguide.com

Laura Urzola Rivas
Talent Acquisition Supervisor
Gordon Food Service
Laura.UrzolaRivas@gfs.com

Steve Kik
Mortgage Origination Specialist
Lake Michigan Credit Union
stephen.kik@lmcu.org


Emily Trevor
, Staff Liason
Account Manager
Heart of West Michigan United Way
etrevor@hwmuw.org